KU Logo


The Department of International Relations is the oldest Department in the field of International Relations in Pakistan. It was established in 1958 and has the honor of offering Honors, Master's, M.Phil and Ph.D. programs. Prior to its formation, the Department was under General History Department and Professor Dr. Mahmud Hussain was its founding Chairman. Dr. Muhammed Ahsan Chaudhry succeeded Dr. Mahmud Hussain as the Chairman of the Department. He was followed by Dr. Ahmed Abdul Kadeer, Dr. Mujtaba Razvi, Professor Shameem Akhtar, Professor Talat A. Wizarat, Professor Syed Sikander Mehdi, Dr. Khalida Ghous, Prof. Dr. Talat A. Wizarat, Professor Dr. Moonis Ahmar, Prof. Dr. Shaista Tabassum. Currently, Prof. Dr. Naeem Ahmed is the Chairman of the Department. The Department has a faculty of 11 full time and 2 part-time teachers and 450 students are studying at the undergraduate and graduate level. Department also run an evening program, where courses for BS and Masters in International Relations are offered.

Since its inception, the Department of International Relations has been active in organizing seminars, conferences and workshops. A number of books have also been published under the Department and several Research Projects funded by foreign foundations are presently being run by its faculty members. The syllabus of the Department was revised in 1998 and new courses focussing on the conceptual and regional studies have been offered.

At present The Department is running four programs in morning and evening shifts.

About IRD
Study Tours
Contact Us
Call for Papers

All content (C) Department of International Relations, Karachi University

Website designed and maintained by Techdorado Web Technologies Inc and maintained by Syed Imran Ahmed
Disclaimer Email Webmaster, kuird.edu.pk